>   home   >   psychedelic   >   psychedelic   >   quicksilver messenger service - castles in the sand (cd)


Help / FAQ

Click buy underneath to any title you want to add to your shopping basket.

Quicksilver Messenger Service - Castles In the Sand (CD)

The Quicksilver Messenger Service have been long acknowledged as one of San Francisco's quintessential Psychedelic bands.

This is the first authorised release of informal studio sessions from the band's classic line-up including Dino Valentine and John Cipollina.

A fascinating work-in-progress, this primarily acoustic session is the sound of a band reinventing itself.


Castles In The Sand comprises one of the first studio sessions by Quicksilver's then new line-up of Dino Valente (vocals), John Cipollina (guitar), David Freiberg (bass & vocals), Greg Elmore (drums), with the British session pianist Nicky Hopkins.

Mainly acoustic, it took place in Corte Madera, California in late 1969/early 1970.

The sound and mixes are excellent. The songs are often spontaneous, spare and unfinished in places and were likely intended as references for later development by the group.

As such they offer a fascinating work-in-progress glimpse of this highly-talented group of musicians re-inventing themselves and developing new material under studio conditions.

Most of the songs, a couple of them running for nearly nine minutes each, were never to appear on album, although they featured in the group's concerts.

As well as working on new songs such as 'Subway' and the rarely-performed 'The Fool', the band run through several country, gospel and blues standards that they were familiar with, such as 'I Know You Rider', 'Walk In Jerusalem', Hank Williams' 'May You Never Be Alone' and Cindy Walker's 'Warm Red Wine'.

The booklet's sleeves notes cover the group's circumstances at the time of the recordings and the featured songs.


1.Senor Blues
3.I Know You Rider #1
4.I Know You Rider #2
5.Walk In Jerusalem
6.Castles In the Sand
7.May You Never Be Alone
8.Warm Red Wine
9.Look Over Yonder Wall/State Farm
10.Wake Up, Dead Man (Part 1)


Dino Valente (vocals),
John Cipollina (guitar)
David Freiberg (bass & vocals)
Greg Elmore (drums)
Nicky Hopkins (piano)



Select Your Country


Sign in here to begin downloading.