>   home   >   progressive   >   soft machine   >   country selection


Help / FAQ

Click buy underneath to any title you want to add to your shopping basket.

Soft Machine

Soft Machine - Fifth (vinyl)

Something of a consolidation of Fourth, Fifth continued the band's exploration of Jazz, Post-Psychedelic experimentalism and Terry Riley inspired Minmalist electronics.

* 180g audiophile vinyl
* Limited pressing of 1000 numbered copies on transparent vinyl

Out of stock.

Soft Machine - Fourth (vinyl)

Featuring the four part, side-long Virtually, Fourth was Soft Machine's first all-instrumental album.

A mix of Jazz and Post-Psychedelic experimentalism, it was the last of the band's albums to include founding member Robert Wyatt.

* 180g audiophile vinyl
* Limited pressing of 1000 numbered copies on transparent vinyl

Out of stock.

Soft Machine - Third (double vinyl)

Soft Machine's third album from 1970 was a double LP, with each vinyl side featuring a lengthy single composition.

Immediately considered the band's most accomplished achievement, Third explored aspects of the emerging Miles Davis/Bitches Brew influenced Jazz Fusion sound, and marked the most major of Soft Machine's stylistic shifts, completing the band's transition from Psychedelic gurus to giants of Jazz.

A significant milestone of the Canterbury scene, the album contains Robert Wyatt's celebrated long-form song, Moon In June.

* 180g audiophile vinyl
* Gatefold Sleeve
* Limited edition transparent vinyl (1000 copies globally)

Out of stock.

Soft Machine - Six (double vinyl)

180g audiophile double vinyl edition of Soft Machine's Six from 1973.

A superb offering, the first two sides comprise live recordings, while sides 3 and 4 feature four lengthy studio pieces highlighting the Softs' brilliantly original fusion of Jazz Rock and Minimalism.

Presented in a gatefold sleeve, this first pressing of 1000 copies (globally) is on transparent vinyl.

Out of stock.

Soft Machine - Man In A Deaf Corner (double cd)

Man in a Deaf Corner is a double cd uncovering the deepest inner workings of Canterbury's prog-jazz heroes and was compiled by Brian Hopper.

Originally released in 2001, the album has been out of print for many years.

Out of stock.

Soft Machine - Live At The Paradiso (cd)

A re-mastered 1969 Soft Machine performance recording taken from a set at the famous Paradiso club in Amsterdam.

Featuring the trio line-up of Robert Wyatt, Mike Ratledge and Hugh Hopper, the songs are from the then as yet to be released Volume 2.

Soft Machine - Drop (vinyl)

The Softs at its most uncompromising, Drop captures the rare Ratledge-Dean-Hopper-Howard line-up in 1971 in West Germany.

Meticulously prepared by Sireena sound guru Marlon Klein as a limited edition white (180g) vinyl edition.

Soft Machine - Wonderland (Vinyl)

There are nine tracks from 1967 to 1970 on this Record Store Day 2015 vinyl release.

This is a limited edition LP (500 copies) of Soft Machine tracks from 1967, featuring Mike Ratledge, Kevin Ayers, Robert Wyatt and Daevid Allen on side one, and from 1969/70 featuring Mike Ratledge, Robert Wyatt, Hugh Hopper and Elton Dean on side two.

The Soft Machine - Volume Two (vinyl)

Soft Machine's second album was the last to prominently feature vocals - Robert Wyatt on particularly dazzling form - and the first to feature Hugh Hopper as a band member.

Volume Two is a wildly imaginative collection of off-kilter songs and proto-Jazz Rock instrumental strangeness that includes the two long suites Rivmic Melodies and Esther's Nose Job, and the timelessly beautiful Hugh Hopper piece, Dedicated To You But You Weren't Listening.

Vinyl edition in non-gatefold sleeve.

Out of stock.

The Soft Machine - The Soft Machine / AKA Volume One (vinyl)

The Soft Machine's debut from 1968 was the only album to feature Kevin Ayers alongside Robert Wyatt and Mike Ratledge.

Dada inspired Psychedelia collides with inventive pop, Jazz and soul influences to unique effect.

This is a limited edition LP version on 180gm virgin vinyl presented in a facsimile of the original gatefold artwork.

Out of stock.

Soft Machine Legacy - Burden Of Proof (cd)

Burden Of Proof is the new studio release from Soft Machine Legacy.

Recorded in Italy during the closing months of 2012, the album features former Soft Machine members John Etheridge, Roy Babbington and John Marshall alongside Theo Travis (who contributes Tenor Sax, Flute and Fender Rhodes)

Taking the style of Soft Machine into the 21st Century, Burden Of Proof is another outstanding SML album, containing new compositions and a new recording of Hugh Hopper's Kings And Queens (originally from Fourth).

The first 2000 copies are available in a special digi-pack.

Soft Machine - Land Of Cockayne (cd)

Soft Machine's final studio album, from 1981, featured the duo of Karl Jenkins and John Marshall being joined by the likes of Jack Bruce, Allan Holdsworth and Dick Morrissey.

A sophisticated release dominated by the compositional prowess of Jenkins, Land Of Cockayne remains an overlooked part of this legendary band's catalogue.

This remastered edition features a booklet including restored artwork, rare photos and sleeve notes by Sid Smith.

Soft Machine - Alive & Well - Recorded in Paris (double cd)

The final live recordings to be released by Soft Machine during its lifetime, Alive & Well was the product of a series of concerts at Le Palace Theatre in Monmartre, Paris in July 1978.

Initially released as a single album, the discovery of multi-track masters of a concert in the archives has resulted in this deluxe expanded edition containing a CD of additional material recorded during the same set of performances.

Unavailable officially on CD for nearly fifteen years, this reissue has been re-mastered from the original master tapes and fully restores the original artwork.

Out of stock.

Soft Machine - Softs (cd)

Esoteric's long overdue re-release of the 1976 Soft Machine classic, Softs.

The band's second for the Harvest label, Softs featured a line-up of Mike Ratledge (keyboards), Karl Jenkins (Oboe, Piano, Soprano Sax), John Marshall (Drums), Roy Babbington (Bass) and new member, John Etheridge (Guitar).

An accessible set that provided a more lyrical companion to Bundles, this was the final album to feature founder member Mike Ratledge.

Unavailable on CD for 15 years, this reissue has been re-mastered from the original tapes, features comprehensive Sid Smith sleeve notes and fully restores the original artwork.

Soft Machine - Bundles (cd)

Esoteric Records long overdue, re-mastered, release of Soft Machine's classic 1975 album, Bundles.

An accessible and highly praised collection, the album featured the classic Mike Ratledge, Karl Jenkins, John Marshall, Roy Babbington quartet augmented by new member, Allan Holdsworth.

Unavailable on CD for nearly 15 years, this reissue has been re-mastered from the original tapes, restores the original artwork and features sleeve notes by Sid Smith (with contributions from John Marshall).



Your Country

You have selected:



Sign in here to begin downloading.