>   home   >   peaceville   >   peaceville vinyl   >   cradle of filth - cruelty and the beast (double vinyl)


Help / FAQ

Click buy underneath to any title you want to add to your shopping basket.

Cradle of Filth - Cruelty And The Beast (double vinyl)

Cradle of Filth formed in Suffolk in 1991 and after a string of demo recordings released their debut album, 'The Principle of Evil Made Flesh' in 1994. The band have gone on to become one of the UK's most successful metal acts, known for their dynamic symphonic style of gothic black metal, along with the dark poetic lyrics from the hand of enigmatic front-man Dani Filth.

'Cruelty And The Beast' was the band's third full-length, originally released in 1998, and was a concept album based around the tale of Countess Elizabeth Bathory. The role is narrated during the album by the legendary Ingrid Pitt (as she herself had earlier assumed that role in the Hammer film, Countess Dracula). The album heightened the symphonic black metal elements even further over their previous releases, and combined with the masterfully poetic lyrics to a dramatic effect, 'Cruelty' was once again a huge success with reviewers and fans alike.

'Cruelty And The Beast' was produced by Jan Peter Genkel, and also featured Les Smith on keyboards, who later went on to enjoy further success with fellow UK band, Anathema.

This album is presented on gatefold double heavyweight vinyl and is limited to just 2000 numbered copies.


Side 1
1. Once Upon Atrocity (1:46)
2. Thirteen Autumns And A Widow. (7:14)
3. Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids. (7:16)
Side 2
1. Beneath The Howling Stars. (7:37)
2. Venus In Fear. (2:20)
3. Desire In Violent Overture. (4:16)
Side 3
1. The Twisted Nails Of Faith. (6:49)
2. Bathory Aria (11:00)
(Benighted Like Usher / A Murder Of Ravens In Fugue / Eyes That Witnessed Madness)
Side 4
1. Portrait Of The Dead Countess. (2:54)
2. Lustmord and Wargasm (The Lick Of Carnivorous Winds) (7:31)


Select Your Country


Sign in here to begin downloading.