>   home   >   canterbury scene   >   soft machine   >   soft machine - land of cockayne (cd)

Canterbury Scene

Canterbury Scene is an offshoot of Burning Shed dedicated to artists related to the influential 'Canterbury' movement of the 1960s/1970s, and music operating on the experimental fringes of Progressive music.

Help / FAQ

Click buy underneath to any title you want to add to your shopping basket.

Soft Machine - Land Of Cockayne (cd)

Soft Machine's final studio album, from 1981, featured the duo of Karl Jenkins and John Marshall being joined by the likes of Jack Bruce, Allan Holdsworth and Dick Morrissey.

A sophisticated release dominated by the compositional prowess of Jenkins, Land Of Cockayne remains an overlooked part of this legendary band's catalogue.

This remastered edition features a booklet including restored artwork, rare photos and informed sleeve notes by Sid Smith.


1. Over 'n' above (7:24)
2. Lotus groves (4:57)
3. Isle of the blessed (1:56)
4. Panoramania (7:07)
5. Behind the crystal curtain (0:53)
6. Palace of glass (3:22)
7. Hot-biscuit Slim (7:27)
8. (Black) velvet mountain (5:10)
9. Sly monkey (5:00)
10. A lot of what you fancy... (0:35)



- Jack Bruce / bass
- Stu Calver / backing vocals
- Alan Holdsworth / lead guitar
- Karl Jenkins / keyboards, synths
- John Marshall / drums, percussion
- Dick Morrissey / tenor sax
- Alan Parker / rhythm guitar
- John Perry / backing vocals
- Tony Rivers / backing vocals
- John Taylor / electric piano
- Ray Warleigh / alto sax, bass flute



Select Your Country


Sign in here to begin downloading.